I’m just calling it a wedding

So I’m a little behind, as it’s day 6 and I haven’t actually updated since day 2. We’ve been really busy which has turned out to be a great thing. I’ll get time to relax later, adventure time is now though.

We got to sleep in on the day of the wedding, but once we did wake up, things were busy busy. I didn’t have much time for anything besides getting ready and eating. When I wasn’t doing any of those things, I was helping my parents and grandparents get ready, and occasionally sneaking a moment to read some of my book. Despite having ample time, we were late, but it was fine since grandma and grandpa were the bride and groom. hooray for 50th anniversary vow renewals! I’m still just going to call it a wedding. I did my very important roll of walking down the isle and looking pretty and watched the ceremony. It was cute, and didn’t last long which was great.

We headed up quickly to the reception and greeted everyone there. The room was charming, decorated in whites and golds as a “boda de oro.” It was small, with only a couple of tables and I was excited to get some food in me. It took a while for them to start serving and once they did, and we were all fed, I was just about ready to go home. But a mariachi band came and an entertainment pair dressed as old people and asking trivia about the “newly weds” dragged the wedding on and on until it was late and then we had to clean everything up. I’d been ready to leave for a couple of hours now, and most of the guests were gone, but my parents and another couple lingered talking for probably another hour! I was getting really bored and impatient at this point, and was relieved when we finally started getting home. It was already 10pm, and I had to wake up before the break of dawn for a scuba trip my dad had booked for us.

I didn’t get to go straight to bed when I got home, instead I had to unload all of the wedding decorations back to the house, and then help move food from the broken fridge to the new one. only after all that was done, and I’d set out my clothes for the next day was I able to get to sleep.

It was a good day though.

Small Steps.

Kalerie

Leave a comment